Complete Guide On How to Delete PayPal Account

If you want to close your PayPal account, then stay glued to this article as I will show you how to do so in a few steps.
Ketcha Brandon
How to Delete PayPal Account

PayPal is one of the most popular online money transfer institution and of course many people will love to own a PayPal account due to the numerous advantages that PayPal brings to our daily life.

PayPal accounts are very useful. They provide an easy and free way to send and receive money from family abroad or buy good and services online.

For some reasons, some people might want to close their PayPal account and if you are one of them, just know that you have found the right article to guide you on this. Closing your PayPal account is a quite straight forward process that can be complete in just a few minutes.

If you want to close your PayPal account, then stay glued to this article as I will show you how to do so in a few steps.

Table of Contents

What is PayPal?

According to Wikipedia, PayPal Holdings, Inc. is an American multinational financial technology company operating an online payments system in the majority of countries that support online money transfers, and serves as an electronic alternative to traditional paper methods such as checks and money orders. The company operates as a payment processor for online vendors, auction sites and many other commercial users, for which it charges a fee.

How Does PayPal Works?

Between you and a bank, PayPal acts as a middleman. A user can choose which bank account to debit when making an online payment after adding a bank account or credit/debit card to the PayPal system. All transactions are handled by PayPal rather than your bank.

In conclusion, we can say the following about PayPal

  1. Enables online and in-person payments for goods and services
  2. Provides a way to send and receive money internationally
  3. Ensures various levels of digital security and payment protection
  4. Charges a variable and/or fixed fee for services rendered.

Why You Might Want to Close Your PayPal Account?

There are several reasons that might push someone to want to close his/her PayPal account and below, I will list some of these reasons:

Compromised Account

There are individuals that close their PayPal accounts due to the fact that it has been compromised and so they prefer to close it down for safety reasons. Business users might choose to deactivate a previously opened account for a company that is no longer in operation. Users may decide to delete their PayPal accounts if they have moved to another payment processor, such as Venmo or Stripe.

Different Email

An obvious reason why on will want to close his/her PayPal account is because the person has gotten a new email and surely wants to open another want with that Email instead of the old one. If this is the case with you, you will surely want to know how to close a PayPal account.

What to Know Before Closing Your Account?

The most important aspect you need to know before closing your account is the fact that when the account is closed, everything is permanently closed since you are not deactivating your account. Deactivation most at times means that you can reactivate it later. So have in mind that once an account has been deleted, it is permanently closed.

1. Everything Will Be Permanently Deleted

Everything associated with your PayPal account will be permanently destroyed since you are closing it. Your transaction history will be erased as a result.

Therefore, if you believe you will need your transaction history at a later time, it might be a good idea to take a screenshot of it, print it out, or otherwise save it. Even if you create a new PayPal account using the same email address, you won't be able to access this data once the PayPal account has been canceled.

2. Make Sure to Withdraw Your Balance

Before closing your PayPal account, it is necessary to withdraw your balance if you have any so as not to lose your funds in the process. You can do this by simply spending your remaining balance or transferring it to your bank account or to a friend's PayPal account.

3. You Must Resolve All Account Issues

Before you try to close your PayPal account, make sure that there are no unresolved issues on your account. This includes outstanding balances that need to be paid or unresolved problems that need to be taken up with customer service.

You will not be able to close a PayPal account if there are unresolved issues tied to your account. Any unpaid money requests will also automatically be canceled.

4. Account Must Be Deleted From the Web

You must access your PayPal account online using a laptop or computer if you want to close your PayPal account. Both the Android and iOS apps do not allow you to delete your PayPal account.

Can I Delete My PayPal Account At Anytime?

Yes you can close your PayPal account at anytime you want to provided you are no longer interested in keeping the PayPal account. Below in this article, I will show you to delete your PayPal account in a few minutes.

How to Close PayPal Account

As soon as you have already saved a copy of your transaction history, fixed any unresolved issues related to your account and withdrawn you money from PayPal, you can now start the process of closing your PayPal account without any problem.

Though the act of closing your account is permanent, the complete process will cost you just a few minutes.

How to Close Your PayPal Personal Account

Below are the steps involved in closing your PayPal personal account:

  1. Log in to your PayPal account on a laptop or computer
  2. Click on the gear icon at the top right of your screen (next to the Log Out option) to access the Settings menu
  3. If you’re not there by default, click the Account tab
  4. Click Close Your Account at the bottom of the page.

How to Close Your PayPal Business Account

Provided you have a business account, you can also downgrade to a personal account, but first of all you will have to contact customer service to do so.

The steps outlined below will help you close your downgrade business account:

  1. Log in to your PayPal account on a web browser on a personal computer or laptop
  2. Click the Profile button at the top right of your screen (next to the Log Out option)
  3. Click Profile and Settings button
  4. Click on Account Settings
  5. Click the Close Account button (to the right of the Account Type line).

Provided you follow the above steps properly, then your account have been closed successfully.

What Happens After You Closed  A PayPal Account?

As soon as you have closed a PayPal account, you will no longer have access to it and your transaction history with PayPal will be lost. Also note that any unpaid money request that you made are automatically canceled.

A Closed PayPal account cannot be used to make online payments in the future. You also lose any unused coupons or redemption vouchers.

If you need to, you can create a new PayPal account (you can even use the same email address), but you will not be able to view any information from the previous account.

Final Thoughts on How to Close A PayPal Account

For some reasons, some people might want to close their PayPal account and if you are one of them, just know that you have found the right article to guide you on this. Closing your PayPal account is a quite straight forward process that can be complete in just a few minutes.

In this article, we have outlined all the necessary steps it takes to close a PayPal account so you can follow it keenly and have your account closed without any problem.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I permanently delete my PayPal account?

Step 1: Log in to your PayPal account using a laptop or computer. ... Step 2: Click on the gear icon given in the top-right corner of the screen. ... Step 3: In the Account section under the 'Account options' tab, click on the 'Close your Account' option..

Can I get scammed through PayPal?

Despite its advantages, however, PayPal still has one thing in common with traditional credit card payments: fraud. Like any other payment processor, PayPal faces a ceaseless onslaught of scams and fraud attempts trying to take money out of someone else's pocket..

Can I delete my PayPal account and start again with the same email?

Yes once you have successfully closed down a PayPal account, you can use the same email to create a new account.

Getting Info...

Post a Comment

Cookie Consent
We serve cookies on this site to analyze traffic, remember your preferences, and optimize your experience.
AdBlock Detected!
We have detected that you are using adblocking plugin in your browser.
The revenue we earn by the advertisements is used to manage this website, we request you to whitelist our website in your adblocking plugin.
Site is Blocked
Sorry! This site is not available in your country.